There are two popular graduate student competitions that integrate planning, design, and real estate financing. One is the ULI Hines Competition, the other is the HUD Innovation in Affordable Housing (IAH) Competition. Both require interdisciplinary teams to work on design, development and financing solutions for a real site in a north American city. It has been a great learning experience for students to work with teammates from a range of backgrounds to tackle challenging urban and real estate issues. We strongly encourage everyone to participate. University of Michigan teams have been finalists in both competitions in the past.

 The 2021 competitions are now closed. We are pleased to announce that two University of Michigan Teams advanced to the final round of the HUD competition. Their final presentations can be viewed at the HUD IAH website.

Taubman College’s teams in the 2021 finals are:

Andrew Darvin, Katie Wheeler, Chris Prinsen, Avanti Krovi, Alex Sulek
Faculty adviser: Marc Norman

Tom Bagley, Rowan Brady, Mitch Deans, Mac Carroll, AnnaBronwyn Shields
Faculty adviser: Sharon Haar

Teams will conduct virtual site visits in mid-March, and the final presentations and awards ceremony will take place in mid-April.

 More information about these two competitions can also be found at their respective official  websites:

 ULI Hines Competition Information

HUD Innovation in Affordable Housing Competition